SponsorThis space is available. Sponsor PlanBurn

OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) vs Replit

Short answerOpenAI Codex starts at $8/mo and resets 5-hour + weekly windows (pro tiers: reported no 5-hour limit as of oct 2026 — secondary source); Replit starts at $20/mo and resets monthly (assumed from monthly allowance; not stated explicitly). Prices checked 2026-10-14 from official pricing pages.

OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans)Replit
Cheapest paid$8/mo*$20/mo
MeteringCodex shares the plan allowance. Five-hour window plus weekly window (per third-party summary of OpenAI help center).Free Mode chat hours plus a dollar allowance for more powerful models.
Reset5-hour + weekly windows (Pro tiers: reported no 5-hour limit as of Oct 2026 — secondary source)Monthly (assumed from monthly allowance; not stated explicitly)
Over the limitPlus/Pro can buy credits or use an API key (secondary source).Unknown (see Replit billing docs).
SourcePricingPricing

OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) plans

PlanPer monthNotes
Free$0Limited Codex access (official).
Go$8*Limited Codex (official). Price from secondary source.
Plus$20*Expanded Codex usage (official). Price from secondary source.
Pro (3 tiers)$100*Official: 'Your choice of 3 usage tiers'. $100/$200/$500 from secondary source.

Replit plans

PlanPer monthNotes
Core$20$18/mo billed annually. Includes $20 toward more powerful models; up to 60 projects on Free Mode.
Pro$100$90/mo billed annually. Everything in Core plus $100 toward the most powerful models.

Questions

Is OpenAI Codex cheaper than Replit?
OpenAI Codex has the cheaper entry paid plan: $8 vs $20 per month (checked 2026-10-14).
How do OpenAI Codex and Replit limits reset?
OpenAI Codex: 5-hour + weekly windows (Pro tiers: reported no 5-hour limit as of Oct 2026 — secondary source). Replit: Monthly (assumed from monthly allowance; not stated explicitly).
Do OpenAI Codex and Replit have free tiers?
OpenAI Codex: yes. Replit: no.