SponsorThis space is available. Sponsor PlanBurn

AI coding usage limits

Short answerUsage limits differ by tool: Claude Code resets rolling 5-hour window + weekly limit; OpenAI Codex resets 5-hour + weekly windows (pro tiers: reported no 5-hour limit as of oct 2026 — secondary source); Cursor resets weekly allowance refresh; GitHub Copilot resets monthly. Checked 2026-10-14.

ToolResetsWhen you hit the limit
Claude CodeRolling 5-hour window + weekly limitPaid plans can turn on usage credits at standard API rates.
OpenAI Codex5-hour + weekly windows (Pro tiers: reported no 5-hour limit as of Oct 2026 — secondary source)Plus/Pro can buy credits or use an API key (secondary source).
CursorWeekly allowance refreshTop-offs, or wait for the weekly refresh. Spending caps available for third-party models.
GitHub CopilotMonthlySet a dollar budget for extra credits at $0.01 each.
WindsurfDaily and weekly quota refreshExtra usage at API pricing.
LovableMonthly credits (expire after 2 months); daily build grants expire dailyTop-up credits (valid 12 months).
Bolt.newMonthly; paid unused tokens roll over one extra monthUnknown (not on fetched page).
ReplitMonthly (assumed from monthly allowance; not stated explicitly)Unknown (see Replit billing docs).
DevinDaily + weeklyPay-as-you-go on-demand credits.

Questions

When do Claude Code limits reset?
Rolling 5-hour window + weekly limit
When do OpenAI Codex limits reset?
5-hour + weekly windows (Pro tiers: reported no 5-hour limit as of Oct 2026 — secondary source)
When do Cursor limits reset?
Weekly allowance refresh
When do GitHub Copilot limits reset?
Monthly
When do Windsurf limits reset?
Daily and weekly quota refresh
When do Lovable limits reset?
Monthly credits (expire after 2 months); daily build grants expire daily
When do Bolt.new limits reset?
Monthly; paid unused tokens roll over one extra month
When do Replit limits reset?
Monthly (assumed from monthly allowance; not stated explicitly)
When do Devin limits reset?
Daily + weekly